Theory of Computation (TOC) Seminar

The Conscious Turing Machine (CTM): A Theoretical CS Approach to the Hard Problem
Tuesday, March 15, 2022 - 4:15pm to 5:15pm

Efficient Verification of Computation on Untrusted Platforms
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 - 4:00pm to 5:15pm

Efficient verification of computation is fundamental to computer science, and is at the heart of t

Merav Parter: New Diameter Reducing Shortcuts: Breaking the $O(\sqrt{n})$ Barrier
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Subhash Khot: On Approximability of CSPs on Satisfiable Instances
Tuesday, November 30, 2021 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

ABSTRACT: Constraint Satisfaction Problems (CSPs) are among the most well-studied problems in Computer Science, 3SAT being a prominent example.

Sanjoy Dasgupta: Some excursions into interpretable machine learning
Tuesday, November 23, 2021 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

The need for int

Noga Alon: PAC Learnability of partial concept classes
Tuesday, November 16, 2021 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

We extend the cl

Shachar Lovett: The log-rank conjecture - where do we stand?
Tuesday, November 9, 2021 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

The log-rank con

Greg Valiant: Sequential Prediction: Calibration and Selective Prediction
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

ABSTRACT: I'll

Li-yang Tan: Properly learning decision trees in almost polynomial time
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Abstract

Nutan Limaye: Superpolynomial Lower Bounds Against Low-Depth Algebraic Circuits
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
ABSTRACT: Every multivariate polynomial P(X) can be written as a sum
of monomials, i.e. a sum of products of variables and field constants.

Pages

Subscribe to Theory of Computation (TOC) Seminar